Week 7 @ Polygon Fellowship: What I'll be working on?

EDIT: Just like previous post I wrote this post at the end of Week 7, but I forgot to post it here.

Can't believe seven weeks at Polygon as a Fellow have gone so fast. These seven weeks have been amazing for me, filled with learning, building and connecting with amazing people. When I started I had very little idea of Web3, but as the weeks progressed, my knowledge about Web3 grew too.
I learnt about DeFi, even created by crypto borrowing platform called Lend3r. Then I leant about decentralised storage system: IPFS, Filecoin and the infrastructure of a DApp. I also queried blockchain using the Graph Protocol. I have always thought of NFTs as overpowered jpegs, but now I have learnt a lot about NFTs and how they can utilized to various use cases like DeFi, Metaverse and more. I am also a part of Raid Guild DAO now :))
But it was not all flowers and roses, there were a lot of times I felt overwhelmed, sometimes I got stuck in assignments but the builder community around web3 was always there to help. So, here is the most important lesson I learnt, you cannot be great at everything, so learn to reach out, there will always be people ready to help. Fellowship isn't over yet though. We have a week long Hackerhouse arranged at Banglore. We will be building awesome DApps all week long. I am super duper excited about the hacker house and meeting the other fellows. I will be building Translat3, a decentralized localization platform, where you will be able to localize your projects in a given language.

More about Translat3

So week 7 was all 'bout deciding the project which we want to work on and I decided to work on Translat3. This will be a web3 powered platform that can help others to localize their projects. Kind of like http://zanata.org/.

The person who wants to get it’s project localized will pool some crypto, this can be done individually or by using community pools (provided on the platform) and upload the document. This document will get converted into individual lines and each line will have a value associated with it depending on the pool. (value of a line = pooled crypto / no of lines)

The translators can then either translate the lines or vote for the lines that are already translated. The translated line with highest vote will be selected as final line. The user who translated the line with highest votes will get 50% of the line value and the remaining 50% will be distributed among those translators who voted.

Each translator will also get a dynamic NFT that will show how much they have translated and which language they translate.

My Objectives with Translat3

  • To create a platform that let organizations or individuals localize their products.
  • To ensure rewards for those who translate correctly and those who ensure quality of the translation.
  • Generate dynamic NFT that works like a certificate for translators and can be used outside the platform too.

Tech stack I am thinking of using

  • Next.js along with TailWind or Chakra UI for frontend.
  • Ether.js along with metamask to interact with smart contracts.
  • Solidity for Smart contracts
  • HardHat along with Chai + Mocha to depoly and test smart contract.
  • IPFS + Filecoin for storage purposes
  • Superfluid to manage payments
  • Polygon as Network

Let the hacking begin :)

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Rakshit Arora by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!